30 SEPTEMBER - 21 OCTOBER
Open Wed to Sat: 11 am to 4 pm and by appointment at any time please just call ahead.
Oona Campbell: Recent Paintings
Abstract landscapes by Jonathan Gibbs, Susie Leiper, Tuëma Pattie and Sarah Warley-Cummings
An intoxicating mix of cars, stars and motorsport royalty come together over four superb days for the Festival of Speed. The largest event of its kind in the world, the Festival gathers together the planet’s rarest and most glamorous cars.
In the summer of 1936, Freddie March - the 9th Duke of Richmond - hosted a private hillclimb for the Lancia Car Club in the grounds of Goodwood House. In 1993, his grandson, the present Earl of March hosted his own Hillclimb and created the Festival of Speed. The weekend sees an array of Formula 1, supercars, bikes and heritage cars taking on the 1.16 mile Hillclimb, which challenges the world's greatest drivers and riders, including today's Formula 1 and Moto GP stars.
Goodwood has played host to the Sport of Kings for over 200 years. From its tentative launch as a flat horseracing course for local officers by the third Duke of Richmond in 1802, to its colourful programme of events, fixtures, weddings and entertaining, Goodwood is one of Britain’s great estates and historic homes. The current Duke of Richmond, who trained as an accountant, and his son, Lord March, ensure that the Goodwood Estate is enjoyed by a wide range of visitors and maximises its fullest potential – while retaining its essentially English charm. The Goodwood racecourse is undoubtedly the jewel in the family’s crown.
The romance and glamour of motor racing as it used to be. The Revival is the only historic race meeting to be staged entirely in period dress and is a return to the halcyon days of Goodwood as the spiritual home of British motor racing.
It’s an unabashed celebration of flat-out wheel-to-wheel racing, around the sweeps and curves of this classic circuit, which remains unchanged since its heyday. The inaugural Revival opened on 18 September 998, when the Earl of March drove around the circuit in the Bristol 400 in which his grandfather, the 9th Duke of Richmond, opened the track 50 years before. It’s now the world’s most celebrated historic motor racing event, with race fans soaking up the unique atmosphere in period costume.
The West Sussex-based Goodwood Motor Circuit originally opened its gates to the public on September 1948 to host Britain’s very first post-war motor race meeting at a permanent venue.
Twelve years earlier, Goodwood’s very first motor sport event was staged when a hill climb meeting was held for a small group of pre-war Lancia enthusiasts, hosted by the 9th Duke of Richmond, Freddie March.
The origins of the Goodwood track derive from an ex-military airfield. RAF Westhampnett, named after the village bordering Goodwood, served as a Battle of Britain base during the War and was the station from which RAF legend Sir Douglas Bader flew his last sortie.
On 18 September 1998, exactly 50 years to the day since the Goodwood circuit first opened, the 9th Duke’s grandson, the present Earl of March, re-enacted the opening of the track at the very first Goodwood Revival meeting in the same Bristol 400 that his grandfather had used half a century earlier on the same track, untouched by the modern world.
Prior to the first Revival meeting in 1998, the circuit was painstakingly restored to look exactly as it did in its heyday, down to the very last detail. Goodwood’s other famous motor sport event, the Goodwood Festival of Speed, was established in 1993 and has gone on to become the world’s largest celebration of motoring culture. Staged in summer in the grounds of Goodwood Park, the Festival attracts the best drivers and vehicles on the planet, including most of the current Formula 1 teams, plus Le Mans winners, racing motorcycles, supercars, and much more besides.
Discover another way to visit the South Downs National Park. Go to www.traveline.co.uk or call 0871 200 22 33 to find public transport information. For train timetables, visit www.nationalrail.co.uk or call 08457 484950. South Downs National Park The South Downs National Park is Britain’s newest National Park, rich in landscape, culture and wildlife. Discover ancient woodland and enjoy spectacular views as you explore the open downs and heathlands. Within these landscapes lie bustling market towns and peaceful rural villages, historic houses and the remains of ancient settlements.
Moncrieff-Bray Gallery and Sculpture Garden is a commercial art space in Petworth specialising in contemporary art and sculpture by established and emerging artists.
The spectacular premises is a 120 metre converted Sussex barn set in a landscaped sculpture garden just outside the town centre, where high quality but accessible art will engage visitors and encourage them to develop an interest in art and sculpture. Due to the scale of the gallery, visitors can be assured of a wide range of work to view at any one time and they hold three to four major exhibitions a year.
Coultershaw is an important part of Petworth’s history. The Trust operates and maintains the Coultershaw Heritage Site located on the A 285 1 1/2 miles south of Petworth The former corn mill site is open to the public on the 1st and 3rd Sundays and Bank Holidays from April to September.
Coultershaw is on the routes of the Rother Navigation, the Petworth to Chichester Turnpike and the Pulborough to Petworth Railway.
In 1782 a waterwheel driven Beam Pump was installed alongside the mill to supply water to Petworth. In 2012 a 15kW Archimedes Screw water turbine was installed in the wheel pit of the old corn mill.New displays included an exhibition of George Garland photographs.